Skip to main content

Effective January 1, 2021, AHIMA and the Commission on Certification (CCHIIM) will discontinue the mandatory annual self-review requirement for CCA®, CCS®, and CCS-P®. If you hold a single certification (either CCA, CCS, or CCS-P), you will still need to earn 20 CEUs per recertification cycle.

After January 1, 2021, all CCS, CCS-P and CCA credential holders will no longer need to complete an annual self-review. They should still continue to follow the rest of the recertification process.

If your recertification cycle ends prior to December 31, 2020, you must still complete your 2019 and 2020 self-reviews. We strongly encourage you to complete the self-reviews prior to January 1, 2021 due to upcoming pricing changes:

  • Currently, the 2020 self-reviews are available for free and will remain free until December 31, 2020. The 2020 self-reviews will be available for purchase for $15 between January 1-March 31, 2021. After March 31, 2021, the fee will increase substantially from $15.
  • Similarly, the 2019 self-review fee will substantially increase from $15 after December 31, 2020. If you still need to complete the 2019 self-review, please do so at your earliest convenience.


To recertify, complete the checklist below. For more information, visit the Recertify page.

  1. Obtain the required number of CEUs during your recertification cycle for each credential (at least 80% of required CEUs for each credential must be related to one of AHIMA’s specified HIIM domains).
  2. Complete your mandatory annual coding self-reviews (self-assessments), if applicable.
  3. Participate in accepted and qualified CEU activities.
  4. Enter your CEUs on time.
  5. Keep all CEU certificates and activities documented for auditing purposes.
  6. Ensure your recertification fee is paid.

If you hold one credential the recertification fee is $218.

If you hold more than one credential, the first recertification fee is $218 and each additional certification is $50. Upon completing mastery-level coding credentials or baccalaureate-level (or higher) HIM credentials, it is no longer necessary to earn CEUs and pay recertification fees for the lower level credentials.

AHIMA members pay their recertification fees in addition to their annual membership renewal. If membership status is not retained for both years of the two-year recertification cycle, you are required to pay the non-member recertification fee.

For more information, visit the Recertify page.

The 2020 CCA, CCS, and CCS-P coding self-reviews are now available to coding credential holders in your CEU Center. To access:

  1. Log in to your MyAHIMA account.
  2. Go to the CEU Center under Education & Certification.
  3. The self-review will appear below your coding credential. Once you have completed the checkout process, you can access your self-review in the Education & Certification section of your MyAHIMA account by clicking Self-Reviews. If applicable, 2020 self-reviews must be completed by December 31, 2020, or before the last day of your current recertification cycle (whichever date comes first), to avoid a late fee/penalty.  

Individuals may appeal the permanent revocation of their credential due to failure to meet CCHIIM recertification requirements. Please submit your appeals via the Recertification Appeal Form. If you are in inactive status and have not been permanently revoked, please refer to the Recertification Guide.

To proceed with a Temporary Waiver request, please submit your request in writing along with proof of hardship to The acceptable documents are:

  • Letter from the Unemployment office
  • Letter from the Government office
  • Letter from the hospital
  • Hospital bills

AHIMA will not be granting any temporary waiver requests due to COVID-19. 

The Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information Management (CCHIIM) accepts CEUs earned through participation in formal educational programs of study that address subject areas related to health informatics and information management.

For qualifying continuing education activities and how to calculate CEUs, visit the Recertify page or read the CCHIIM Recertification Guide.

Effective January 1, 2021, the recertification process will no longer include a three-month grace period following the end date of your recertification cycle.

  • At the end of your 24-month certification cycle, if you have not met the recertification requirements your certification status will become “inactive”.
  • If you do not meet all of the recertification requirements, your certification will remain in the “inactive” status for 180 days before going “revoked”.

Prior to January 1, 2021, if you had not renewed your certification by the end of your 24-month certification cycle, your status would have been "grace" for 90 days then "inactive" for 90 days before going to a “revoked” status.

If you need a recertification extension at the end of your 24-month renewal period, it will be available in your CEU center for a $50 fee.



Cookie Notice

This website stores cookies on your computer. These cookies are used to collect information about how you interact with our website and allow us to remember you. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience and for analytics and metrics about our visitors both on this website and other media. To find out more about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy.
Back to top