Skip to main content

Grace Award

Ninety years ago, the founder of AHIMA, Grace Whiting Myers, was a catalyst for change. She began this association on the conviction that advancements in the collection and organization of health information (HI) will invariably help medical professionals improve public health.

Today, the responsible collection, protection, and analysis of HI allows practitioners to provide effective care, innovative economic engines to run, researchers to make life-saving discoveries, and empowers individuals to maintain good health.

Due to Myers’ prescient vision, the AHIMA annual award bears her name: The Grace Award. The Grace Award honors healthcare delivery organizations for their innovative and novel approaches to using health information to deliver high-quality care to patients and for their contributions to our shared mission to Empower People to Impact Health.

Photo of Timothy Keough, Jennifer Mueller, Jennifer Miller, Wylecia Wiggs Harris, Stephen Young

AHIMA Presents 2022 Grace Award to MD Anderson Cancer Center

The American Health Information Management Association congratulates MD Anderson Cancer Center as 2022 Grace Award recipient. The award, which is named for AHIMA founder Grace Whiting Myers, honors organizations that demonstrate excellence in health information (HI). AHIMA presented MD Anderson with this honor at the AHIMA22 Global Conference on October 12 in Columbus, Ohio. “MD Anderson is extraordinarily worthy of the 2022 Grace Award,” said AHIMA CEO Wylecia Wiggs Harris, PhD, CAE. “Its HI team is advancing patient safety through critical process improvements, ensuring data integrity, and building strong teams by fostering an environment of continuous learning, and volunteer service at the local, state and national levels.” “Not only does this recognition symbolize the devotion of the whole team at MD Anderson, but it exemplifies the impact the AHIMA member body has on the healthcare ecosystem outside of the traditional hospital setting,” said Stephen Young, RHIA, MBA, MSIS, 2022 AHIMA Grace Award Committee chair.  

Read the full Press Release.

Recognize Your Organization’s Accomplishments

Nominations for the 2023 AHIMA Grace Award will open Spring 2023.


Grace Award Winners

Past winners that regularly demonstrated transformative journeys toward new and innovative HI practices that generate better patient outcomes.


Back to top